La Puebla de Castro is located in the Ribagorza, a very beautiful and natural area northeast of the city Huesca in de province of the same name. The province border on France and is part of the autonomous district Aragón.


The Ribagorza is formed by three major rivers, namely Esera, Isábena and Noguera Ribagorzana. Originally it is an area with a strong personality. It used to be an independent county, co-founded by the Aragon kingdom, containing fundamental elements of the evolution of Spain. Major city in the Ribagorza is Graus, which has the most inhabitants. Second and third come Benasque in the north and Benabarre, southeast of Graus.

The lovely town of Benabarre used to be the capital of the county.

The Ribagorza can be divided into different geological zones extending from north to south. In the northern part are the Pyrenees, with peaks of the Aneto (3.404 meters) and Posets (3.370 meters). In the centre part beautiful valleys can be found, surrounded with mountain ranges of lesser altitude (Sierras Interiores and Exteriores) like Cotiella and Turbon or Mongay, rich of fossils.


In the eastern and western part the appearance of the Ribagorza is formed by the rivers that run through it, like the Esera, Isábena and Noguera Ribagorzane. Because of this beautiful valleys and impressive crevices evolved over the centuries, like Campo, Ventamillo, Obarre, near Olvena, Escales and Monrebei.

Water is the most important element in the Ribagorza. Erosion by running water created crevices and tributaries, which made it possible for people to establish themselves in the most remote areas. Near Bisaurri, Graus en Vilas de Turbón very clear springs can be found. There are also natural lakes near Estaňa and Benasque and reservoirs, like Eriste, Sahún, Seira, Llauset, Basserca, Escales, Sopeira, Canelles, El Grado and Barasona.


Home > Surroundings > Ribagorza - La Puebla de Castro - Mediaeval bridges - History